Plant-focused Faculty

Many faculty members in the Biology Department have research programs that involve plants, in a number of different topical areas from computational biology and genomics to ecosystem ecology. Many faculty members conduct research that bridges several disciplines. Please explore this page and the Faculty listing to see what areas we are working in.

NameEmailWebsiteExpertiseAccepting undergraduate research assistants?
Barbazuk, William (Brad)bbarbazuk@ufl.eduBarbazuk LabComputational Biology, Genomics, Informatics, Molecular BiologyYes
Braun, Edebraun68@ufl.edu Braun LabGenomics, Phylogenetics
Burleigh, John (Gordon)gburleigh@ufl.eduPhylogenetics, Computational Biology
Cellinese, Nicoletta (Nico)ncellinese@flmnh.ufl.eduCellinese LabPhylogenetics, Systematics, Taxonomy, Informatics, Biogeography
Yes
Chen, Sixueschen@ufl.eduChen LabMetabolism, Plant Signaling, Molecular Biology, ProteomicsYes
Davis, E. Christinechristine.davis@ufl.eduSystematics, Symbioses, Bryology, PedagogyYes
Gitzendanner, Mattmagitz@ufl.eduGitzendanner LabGenomics, Computational Biology, Population Genetics
Harmon, Aliceharmon@ufl.eduMolecular Biology, Signal Transduction
Hauser, Bernardbahauser@ufl.eduReproductive Biology
Judd, Walterlyonia@ufl.eduSystematics
Lichstein, Jeremyjlichstein@ufl.eduLichstein LabForest Dynamics, Carbon Cycle, Climate Change
Mack, Michellemcmack@ufl.eduMack Lab Ecosystem Ecology
Manchester, Stevesteven@flmnh.ufl.eduManchester LabPlant Anatomy, Paleontology, SystematicsYes
McDaniel, Stuartstuartmcdaniel@ufl.eduMcDaniel LabPopulation Genetics, Bryology, GenomicsYes
Oppenheimer, Davidoppenhe@ufl.eduOppenheimer LabCell Biology, Genetics, Molecular Biology, DevelopmentYes
Ponciano, Jose Migueljosemi@ufl.edu Ponciano LabEcology
Putz, Francis E. "Jack"fep@ufl.eduTropical Ecology, Silviculture, Restoration Ecology, Fire Ecology
Schuur, Tedtschuur@ufl.eduSchuur Lab Ecosystem EcologyYes
Sessa, Emilyemilysessa@ufl.eduSessa LabSystematics, Genomics, Physiological Ecology, BiogeographyYes
Soltis, Dougdsoltis@ufl.eduSoltis LabSystematics, Phylogenetics, Population Genetics, GenomicsYes
Soltis, Pampsoltis@ufl.eduSoltis LabSystematics, Phylogenetics, Population Genetics, GenomicsYes
Spencer, Williamwespencer@ufl.eduApplied Wetland Ecology

 

Tagged as: